Writing Week in Review: 8/27-9/2

Kristen Twardowski

Enfant_écrivant-Henriette_Browne

In spite of myself, I managed to put a few more words to paper this week. The itch to begin cleaning up narrative elements grows ever stronger though. I am forever an editor at heart, and the temptation to work on structure, character, and language lingers. But enough of that. Let’s see how writing the first draft of my novel experiment has gone this week!

New Word Count Goal: 5000

Starting Word Count: 42245

Ending Word Count: 47310

Total New Word Count: 5065

Percent Goal Achieved: 101%

Overall, I’m satisfied with what I have written, but I have had to combat competing urges to write dozens of pages a day or none at all. I think this has to do with where I am in the plot. Finishing the first draft is both a near and far thing. It will be done by the end of this month – I…

View original post 60 more words

Leave a Reply

