How Many POVs Is Too Many?

Kristen Twardowski

Giaele_e_Sisara

I’m going to have to get rid of a point of view character. I am not looking forward to it.

This character has a wonderful story of his own to tell, an interesting background, a fascinating life. But as much as I enjoy writing from his perspective, I don’t think his POV chapters add anything to the work. In fact, I have the terrible suspicion that his sections make the manuscript less focused. I already have a core set of POV characters, and their narrative arcs make sense when read together. His POV just doesn’t belong.

Though I am a little heartbroken about having to remove his POV, it is probably the right choice. Besides, he won’t disappear from the story entirely, and just because I’m taking him out of this draft doesn’t mean that I have delete everything I have ever written about him. I’ll just slide those paragraphs…

View original post 96 more words

Leave a Reply

