A Novel Experiment

Kristen Twardowski

Though this novel, name to be determined, isn’t the first one I’ve written, it is the first one that I am attempting to self-publish. I have a tendency to fiddle with words and take too long to edit. There is something innately horrifying about people reading an imperfect manuscript, and, of course, all manuscripts are by nature imperfect.

Despite all of this angst, earlier this year I decided to bite the bullet and commit to publishing my next manuscript. I’ve given myself a short turnaround time in order to see what happens when I don’t have months to edit the work into oblivion.

I’ve written about a third of the novel and plan to write at least 20,000 words for each of the next two months. Then I’ll spend the October and November ripping the manuscript apart, stitching it back together, and editing it. With luck, elbow grease, and more than a…

View original post 192 more words

Leave a Reply

