How is Powerball like writing?

Jeffrey Ricker

So, the Powerball jackpot got me thinking a lot about writing this week. For those who aren’t familiar, a) you must pay attention to the news even less than I do (which is not much), and b) the jackpot is now up to $1.3 billion.

Wow, that’s a lot. Even if four people got tickets with the winning numbers, they’d each get over $300 million. Pretty life changing, right?

What does this have to do with writing? you ask. Well, nothing, except that writing often seems like a big gamble, but if you don’t play, you can’t win.

One of my friends asked the perennial question, “What would you do if you won?” After my initial thoughts of “biggest pet sanctuary ever” and “life-size Millennium Falcon,” I was kind of stumped. Then I realized, I would do exactly what I’m doing now: Write, only with less worry about finances.

I’d like…

View original post 573 more words

One thought on “How is Powerball like writing?

Leave a Reply

