Blog 76: Beware! Pointless marketing advice for writers

Ho hum, I really don’t think much of the  book marketing advice from some high-selling author or other to use the Kindle Countdown facility in Amazon. I usually do manage to shift three or four books at least when I put a Free Book offer up on site, but I’ve had my short story collection The Singing Road and Other Stories on the Kindle Countdown for the last week at her advice at the discount price of 99 cents and it’s sold ….

…. absolutely nothing.

So I don’t think I’ll be doing that again, eh! Or indeed listening to the aforementioned author. I do have a couple more Kindle Countdowns on other books in the offing, so I suppose I’ll let them run and see what happens, because I’m just too exhausted to change anything – but I’m not holding out much hope. At least with the Amazon Free Books facility, I do manage to shift some stock (as it were) even though I don’t get paid for it. Then again, not getting paid for my books is my default position, so at least I’m used to it!

Anne Brooke Books
Gay Reads UK
The Gathandrian Fantasy Trilogy

Leave a Reply

