Blog One: the silence of publishers

I’ve written the first 2000 words of my new novel, The Old Bags’ Sex Club. This is something of a departure for me, as it’s not gay and will actually therefore have straight sex in it at some point. I think. Not sure I can write straight sex, but we’ll have to see. I’m aiming for about 80,000 words which it’s unlikely many people will actually read. Ah, the triumph of hope over experience.

In other news, the publisher that promised a response on my revised submission of gay fantasy The Taming of the Hawk last week and then again on Monday still hasn’t responded. So I imagine that’s a no then. I’m planning to submit it elsewhere, but the last few vestiges of hope have me hanging on, just in case. I’m telling myself it’s because if other changes are suggested, I’ll need to do those whether it’s a total rejection or whether it’s a second revision. But actually, I’m probably just hopeful, hey ho.

Meanwhile, I’ve submitted crime novella The Gangster’s Wife to a couple of mainstream e-publishers and some smaller but well-known presses. I’ll give it three months to enjoy the silence (ha!) and then self-publish it in October. Good to have a plan, eh.

Have also decided that the publisher who took a year to respond to another piece of work and say no even though they’d initially said yes (sigh) is not one I’m ever going to submit to again. Sometimes, you just have to move on.

And on Amazon, 2 people have downloaded The Prayer Seeker, so even if I can’t actually shift any priced books, those that are free do sometimes find a home.

Writerly confidence rating: 5 (out of 10)

Leave a Reply

